Site Index
Wellington Botanical Society Awards - Allan Mere Award

Wellington Botanical Society Awards - Allan Mere Award

The Allan Mere – a handsome greenstone / pounamu (nephrite) hand club – was originally presented to the former DSIR Botany Division by the late Dr Lucy Moore in 1982 to commemorate the 100 anniversary of the birthday of Harry Howard Allan - the first Director of the former DSIR Botany Division, and author of the first volume of the DSIR New Zealand Flora series.   It was Lucy’s intention that the award be presented - not necessarily annually - to those staff members who had made the most significant contribution to New Zealand Botany.

With the demise of the DSIR Botany Division the Allan Mere was passed over to the New Zealand Botanical Society who now award, on much the same basis as Lucy Moore had intended, to those candidates nominated by the various regional botanical societies.

Nominations meeting the following conditions are invited to apply for the Allan Mere Award :

a.   The Award shall be made annually to a person or persons who have made outstanding contributions to botany in NZ, either in a professional or amateur capacity.
b.   The Award shall be administered by the NZ Botanical Society.
c.   Nominations for the Award may be made by regional botanical societies, or by individuals, to the Secretary, NZ Botanical Society.   Nominations shall close on 30 June each year.   Nominations shall be signed by a nominator and seconder, and accompanied by two copies of supporting information that must not exceed one A4 page.
d.   Selection of the successful nominee / nominees shall be made by the Committee of the NZ Botanical Society, normally within three months of the closing date for nominations.
e.   If, in the opinion of the Committee, no suitable nomination is received in any particular year, the Committee may refrain from making an award.
f.   The Mere shall be formally presented to the recipient on an appropriate occasion by the President of the NZ Botanical Society or his/her nominee, but otherwise shall remain in the custody of the Herbarium Keeper of CHR and displayed at the entrance to the Allan Herbarium at Landcare Research, Lincoln, together with the book recording awards.
g.   The recipient shall receive an appropriately inscribed certificate.

Nominations should be sent by 30 June to :
Ewen Cameron, Secretary, NZ Botanical Society, c/- Canterbury Museum, Rolleston Avenue, Christchurch 8013.


Please Email comments regarding this web page to webmaster (at)